Middle Of Nowhere by OBA

Recently I saw a movie about 3 women; a mother and her 2 daughters, even though I didn’t get the opportunity to see the end of the movie (thanks to PHCN). It was the title that fascinated me.

From what I saw from the movie, here was an elderly woman in her mid 50’s sitting with the two ladies,one a medical college drop-out, the other a single mom, with a 4-5year old boy.

She was devastated, furious and disappointed about how her 2 girls had turned out because of the unpleasant situations they had found themselves.

Single mother, broke, jobless and saddled with the responsibility of taking care of her baby, but this was not the plan from the beginning. “Where did I go wrong with you?” She said!

Medical College drop-out, with no enthusiasm for life, just surviving and coasting along as life unfolds (No zest,just blank). Whatever happened to those beautiful dreams, the colourful desire for a life of fulfillment?

No reason to go on with life, and just wallowing in pity and self defeat. Why me? Where did I get it wrong? Where did I miss the direction?

I know that there are a number of people out there, who are in the category of the above persons or even in worse circumstances, who started out Life’s journey with so much expectations and goals, who started out with boisterous enthusiasm and determination to make the best out of Life, but are at the moment in the “middle of Nowhere”.

I may not be able to say for sure,why you are where you are, but the truth is we all, at one time or another in our lives, get to the street called “middle of nowhere” in the journey of life. I have been through that route before, and I know what’s it feels like, when what’s you are seeing with your “korokoro eyes” is nothing like those dreams you once had. It’s like what Beyonce sang in the movie “fighting temptations; “You go to bed feeling on top of the world, only to wake up, and the world is top of you.”

There are so many factors that one can say is responsible for this detour. E.g Lack of Focus, Lack of direction, premature exposure, wrong influence etc.

Joseph, a typical example! He had such a beautiful glimpse of his future, everyone around him celebrated the dreams when he shared it (so it seems), but the event that unfolded thereafter wasn’t palatable at all, it was more of a case of “from fry pan to fire”, at some point in his journey, Joseph found himself in the “middle of Nowhere” His was a case of premature exposure of the dream.
He felt Lost, betrayed, battered and bent almost giving up like any one else but he didn’t! At the end of the day he realized those dreams.

I remember several years ago, I found myself in the “middle of Nowhere”,my dreams were far from reality, it was in the early years of my marriage,and at that time; I was just merely surviving,it was as if I was in a rut,nothing was happening (or so I thought) and to add salt into injury, I was pregnant with my second Son! What? No I can’t be pregnant, God! why? We are just barely getting by – my husband, myself and our little boy, another addition would be disaster!! I became angry with God, angry with Life, and everything I lost the enthusiasm for life, because at that time, what was going on around me, was contrary to the great plans and dreams. After several months of hosting the pity party for myself and regretting, I got my groove back,because someone made me realized that God is still very much involved with me, and everything will be alright!

The middle of Nowhere is a place of darkness, no sign of Life, everything becomes meaningless, no colour, no beauty nothing. You may have been there before, you may be there right now, or you even know someone who seem to be lost or groping in the dark.

This is my admonition to anyone who is in the middle of nowhere with your dreams, goals, aspirations. In the middle of Nowhere in your marriage, career, relationship or whatever.

1. You are never alone- don’t ever allow yourself to think that you are all alone. The Creator of the Universe and the Manager of all is with you.

2. Understand that it is just a detour,and you must get back on track. And you can only find yourself when you go back to God and His Word.

3. You can always pray your way back on track.

4. Learn to be Thankful, even in that Situation, because a heart of gratitude even in unpleasant scenarios of life, prepares you for a miracle.

Consider it all joy friends, whenever you face many trials (James 1:2).

OBA

OBA is a Woman of many parts, a Worship leader/ Recording artiste
The host of “An evening with OBA & friends, a monthly Lounging with jazz/Soulful music in a family friendly ambience glorifying Christ. Author,and Speaker.
You can reach her booking and speaking engagement:
08180891386
Follow @obapathway
http://www.facebook.com/Obamusic1

‘Tayo Ojo
@tayojo

Leave a comment